Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

tom.jpg

 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!










. . .
Photo

Why update the FMC...?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Ross1

Ross1

    New Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 5 Months and 14 Days Ago.

Posted 25 February 2012 - 10:50 AM

Hello all...The PSS 777 Pro is still pretty new for me and I am gradually figuring out the FMC. I see that nav data updates are available for the FMC from sites like Navigraph. I must be missing something but, assuming that the updates include new or corrected nav aids, waypoints,frequencies etc...what good is it if the FS default scenery is not changed to match?. I suppose it would match the real paper charts one might have, but seems to me that facilities still have to exist in FS.ThanksRoss

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 Barnstormer1

Barnstormer1

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 7 Months and 15 Days Ago.

Posted 25 February 2012 - 02:41 PM

Not much unless you frequently fly on something like Vatsim that tries to emulate RW procedures and routes. When flying using the FMC and navdata it doesnt relay on the FS navdata. Only when tuning to airport ILS's. Be careful to use FS ILS freq and not what the FMC says or at least crosscheck them. They will differ due to update airport data.

Edited by Barnstormer1, 25 February 2012 - 02:43 PM.

ArDee

#3 Ross1

Ross1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 5 Months and 14 Days Ago.

Posted 25 February 2012 - 03:09 PM

Thanks...then am I correct to understand that the .dat files in the PSS folders simply override the FS default or addon navaids,waypoints,airways etc. That would make sense, and probably much better match the charts that are available depending on issue dates. I suppose corrections/changes could be made to suit the charts by editing the .dat files also. As well, one would then have to ignore the FS Map and hope the updates are all in order. Any recommendations on a source for updates? ( FS9, Windows 7, PSS 777 Pro.. latest version.)cheersRoss

#4 ubersu

ubersu

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,126 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 9 Months and 1 Day

Posted 26 February 2012 - 11:01 AM

Thanks...then am I correct to understand that the .dat files in the PSS folders simply override the FS default or addon navaids,waypoints,airways etc. That would make sense, and probably much better match the charts that are available depending on issue dates. I suppose corrections/changes could be made to suit the charts by editing the .dat files also. As well, one would then have to ignore the FS Map and hope the updates are all in order. Any recommendations on a source for updates? ( FS9, Windows 7, PSS 777 Pro.. latest version.)cheersRoss

It's not so much that the FMC data overrides the FS data - it's simply that the FMC doesn't use FS data at all. If you want to use realworld current charts, then the FMC data will match (usually - it's not perfect) the charts for that cycle. The only source for the current FMC data is Navigraph. I very much recommend that you do not attempt to modify the data yourself unless you know exactly what you're doing. You may find that unless you are using up to date add-on airports or have modified afcads that things like runway numbers and some ILS frequencies will not match what you see in the FMC.DJ

#5 Ross1

Ross1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 5 Months and 14 Days Ago.

Posted 26 February 2012 - 02:21 PM

Thanks...makes more sense now. I have installed the latest FMC data from Navigraph...very easy!....and now it more closely matches the charts I have. I will not miss flipping back and forth to the FS map.best regardsRoss

#6 nam1394

nam1394

    Member

  • Bronze
  • 583 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 3 Months and 27 Days Ago.

Posted 25 April 2012 - 01:51 AM

You don't need to update it unless you download flight plans from VROUTES or use real world routes.

Naif Almazroa

 

My Videos:
http://www.youtube.c...eature=mhee#p/u






   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!