Sign in to follow this  
wingclip

Mission AI Aircraft went invisible

HI Folks,

I was flying my "Resort" mission to try out my new GTX 1070 card, (which is doing a great job), and when my copilot started spotting the F16s that were supposed to be flying by, I realized they were not visible and they were silent too! Not even a contrail and I remember that I could always hear the sound of the jets flying by but now they were entirely inaudible as well!

NOT new to FSX, (quick & short background history): I've been flying FSX since at least 2011. I have $$$ invested in 3rd party scenery including all the FTX Global stuff, FG Mesh, REX and more. I run FSX at 4096 resolution and 6.50000 LOD and maintain 32FPS. FSX is installed on its own, dedicated, SSD and I've been building my own systems to suite the sim for years.

OK, so you can extrapolate from that, the fact that I'm not new to the sim and that it’s a recent issue that didn’t exist before. BTW, I do have the 2-disc acceleration pack set (Deluxe Gold).

I read on line that an FS9 AI BGL could cause this and/or disabling the "aircraft casts shadows on itself" will sometimes fix it but I never had that enabled. Even if I did and doing something like that fixed it, I wouldn’t consider it ‘fixed’ because I’m looking to repair the actual problem itself.

I knew I had a problem with the AI visibility weeks ago, (the aircraft skins were invisible but the interior of the planes were not), but I was too busy to address it and I thought it would be easily fixed if I removed and then re-installed Traffic 360. I tried that but it didn’t work. I didn't think to check and see if I still had the problem before I re-installed T-360. 

I didn't know the problem affected the Mission AI aircraft until just a few days ago. I ran "Traffic 360" Registry check & Fix tool but no cigar. Yesterday, I ran the Acceleration disc and selected "Repair" but that didn't work.