Sign in to follow this  
WebMaximus

Rudder pedals IRL

Hi,A simple question for a real pilot or anyone else who knows - how does the rudder pedals work in a real a/c? What I mean is do you push the right or left pedal forward to turn right and vice versa?TIA,

Richard Åsberg

Richard,I believe its: Right pedal forward == right turnLeft pedal forward == left turnRight toe brake == brake on right sideLeft toe brake == brake on left sideCH products sells pedals for FS if your interested

Hi Dan,Thanks for your reply, can anyone else confirm this?And thanks for the tip, but I already have a pair of CH pedals - that's why I'm asking ;-)

Richard Åsberg

Guest wee_davie_2612

EDITConfirmed :)Brakes - Right toe = Right brakes etc.Hope it helps :)David ;)

Guest chris_kirk

Yes, confirmed. Push right pedal to yaw right, left pedal to yaw left. I'm not a professional pilot, but a student pilot with 6 hours in a C-152 and 1 hour in a C-172 (i.e. I don't know much... but I do know this!)Any particular reason for your doubt?Chris Kirk

Hi David,That's the way I have my pedals configured now and what feels most natural to me, but as you can see in Dan's post above he claims the other way around and that's also how it's modeled in PMDG's virtual cockpit - ie when the right pedal is moved forward the a/c turns right.Hmm...could someone please shed some light here?

Richard Åsberg

Guest chris_kirk

>Think of the rudder pedals as the handle bars on your bike,>Push your right arm forward and you turn left, left forward>you turn right.Sorry David, but you've got that backwards. If the analogy were correct then on the bicycle you'd push your RIGHT arm forward to turn RIGHT. You are correct about the brakes though.Chris Kirk