Sign in to follow this  
Guest triangle

Upgrade results - Q9550

Guest triangle

Hi allI have completed rebuilding and testing my machine (original specs in my sig - will change later). I went from a Q6600 B3 (2.4ghz stock) which would not overclock beyond 2.7ghz with good air cooling to a Q9550 (2.83ghz stock) (note to Sam - reseller I have been using for 10 years was v kind and sold me the Q9550 at a highly discounted price so chose that over a Q6600 C0).I also installed an MSI Platinum X48C mainboard - do not go there unless you have alot of patience and at least enough knowledge to get down and dirty with your BIOS. The X48C was barely operable at the start and a flash to the latest official BIOS did nothing - rarely booted past POST, ran the FSB at 50%, wouldn't recognise more than one DIMM, set all DIMM voltages and timings incorrectly etc. The MSI engineers acknowledged the board was highly problematic at release and gave me a beta release they had just completed and I spent a full 16hr day getting the board stable (three of which were dedicated to figuring out how to flash from a DOS bootable USB flash drive ... LOL).Also added 4gb 1333mhz DDR3 RAM as previously only had 800mhz DDR2 RAM.Anyway, the plan was to complete the upgrade, guarantee stability running Prime95 overnight and then start overclocking. Am currently sitting stable on 3.5ghz and there is obviously headroom to go a fair bit further - the 45nms chips suck very little voltage compared to the 65nms and generate much less heat.I benched FSX using FSX Benchmark 0.7 (high config settings) before upgrading and when I had the machine stable at 3.3ghz. The chart is below - I am really only providing this to give any interested people an idea of the FPS differential you might achieve between different CPU speeds. All up, average FPS increased 33%.FYI ...Andrewhttp://forums.avsim.net/user_files/191355.jpg