Sign in to follow this  
psolk

T7 CDU programming for beginners (simplified)

So I see alot of posts about how to correctly program the CDU and errors that most likely are caused by CDU programming error. Since I am doing Marathon Flights today, CO020 and CO021 back-back in real time (KEWR-EGCC, EGCC-KEWR) I figured I would use some time to outline how I get my T7 CDU ready for flight.Notes:1. I am not a r/w pilot, this is just what I do that has worked since day 1.2. This is a simplified step by step tutorial to get you from point A to Point B.3. Buttons shall be referred to by their key names. Entry keys shall be referred to as LSK (Left side Key) or RSK (Right Side Key) and the number 1-6 from top to bottom. 4. This is intended more for the people who are trying to get there arms around this huge bird.5. This tutorial is designed around a F/P and not manual waypoint entry.6. Please feel free to add/critique, I am not an expert at all and I am doing this from memory mid flight. I will go back and correct/clarify things when I am doing an actual setup in pre-flight. Lets make this interactive...CDU 101 for Dummies :)Route Entry1. Press the CLR button to clear the Position Entry message2. Press RSK6 Pos Init3. Press RSK4 to "copy" your GPS coordinates4. Press RSK5 to "paste" your GPS coordinates5. Press the RTE Key to enter your RTE Data6. Press the Route Request button7. Press the Select FS FlightPlan Button Select the LSK for your F/PAt this point your Departure and Arrival Runways should be populated on the RTE page. DO NOT hit activate yet.8. Press Dep/Arr key9. Press LSK 1 for your DEP from your originating airport10. Press the appropriate RSK to select your dep/arr runwayIf you do not see your runway you may have to hit the Next Page key11. Press Dep/Arr again (this is optional I do this because I use ASV and force my destination wxr)12. Press RSK2 for ARR into your arrival airport13. Press the appropriate RSK to select your arrival runway Alternatively, this