Sign in to follow this  
Guest fyrestrtr

Few Questions on the FMC

Guest fyrestrtr

Hello Everyone: I am enjoying the 777 and after a few flights, I have the following questions, please excuse me if these are a FAQ, I searched for a bit, but didn't find anything that answered my question directly. I'm new to a 'proper' FMC so please excuse me if these are some trivial questions :) When I start FS2004 and load the PSS 777, it starts up, and the altitude on the AP is set to 10000. I then load my FP and punch in a cruise altitude (32000) in the CDU. Question: In the TAKEOFF REF page, what is CG % ? I punch in some number here, and it gives me the trim setting, but what should I put in here? After I have saved my flight plan, I setup the autopilot by: Clicking on the VNAV Click on the LNAV Flipping on the autothrottle arm Turning on the flight director (I do not punch the HOLD button under Altitude) Then, I commence my take off roll, after I have reached about 900 FT and the gears are up, I activate the autopilot by clicking on the A/P button. Then I follow the markers on the speed tape to retract the flaps. Autopilot does the lateral navigation perfectly (ie, the flight plan is programmed correctly). Question: It seems no matter what I do, the aircraft never reaches the cruise altitude, but rather it levels off at 10,000. On the FMC, there is a 'crossing altitude' setting (this time, it was 18000). Should I set this in the AP's altitude setting before takeoff? How do I get the airplane to climb (not like a rocket ship) to the cruise altitude set in the FMC? As I approach the destination, I pull up the STAR information in the CDU, I select a runway, a STAR and a FIX. This is all then activated by hitting the EXEC button. In the CDU, I can see that it has the correct altitudes when crossing fixes (ie, it will descend properly). However, the plane never does! It's always cruising at 32000 (or whatever is set in the glare shield panel). I always end up manually descending