Sign in to follow this  
Guest TomOOO

Question for people who are pilots

Guest TomOOO

There is a lot of comment on the pros/cons of FS2004 and X-plane (for example - the main 2 - FU3 is also Finite element analysis), much of this is very caustic without real understanding of the underlying technology . I am well aware of the flight models of the two systems (I am a scientist) : FS2004 based on a set of parameterised lookup and equations that define the acceleration at a point in time of the model. The parameters are optimised to give the appearence of the correct flight characteristics. It major failing is that it requires experience to define the parameters, and errors are large outside the flight model. Maybe more than one model is required to handle multiple state systems (linear flight/stall). X-plane uses finite element analysis (Blade element theory) where the main issue is the precision of the sampling and the propogation of errors within the analysis to calculate the acceleration of the model. It major failing is the sample size (ie believe X-plane uses 10 at max), and interaction of the elements. It can give good models, but it can also give completely wrong answers where the errors are very large - often seen as odd flight effects for no apparent reason.Neither method can be completely accurate, though I understand the difficulty and effort put into both these systems - they are both excellent programs. What I would like to know is comments from real pilots of the pros and cons of the two system and how they think the model real plane motion.Many thanks in advance for any comments from pilots.RegardsTom

Guest PARADISE