Sign in to follow this  
skip d

high altitude takeoff

i'm a newb to flying in fs2004 so please excuse my lack of ability.i tried to takeoff using a cessna 172 from flagstaff,ariz. and found the a/c was barely able to clear the end of the runway.i have the mixture control on auto in the a/c settings,and realize that the air is much thinner at that alt. am i using the wrong a/c for this alt. or is there something else i should be doing? i've looked for tutorials or stickies with search but found nothing. thanks

A C172 at gross and 7000' is going to struggle. Density altitude could put the Cessna near its ceiling before it leaves the ground. You might try a lighter load or something turbocharged. Something like the default Mooney won't have any trouble climbing out of Flagstaff. Having said that, FS9 is a bit conservative on the C172 climb rate under those conditions. It's a dog at those altitudes, but not quite that bad.

I tried this scenario, since I know that 172's are "gutless", but it worked!Pilot and passenger were the default 170 lbs * 2, and fuel load at 100%. Also summer, to add a bit to density altitude. Flaps up & rotated around 65 kias.Auto-mixture actually gave me a bit more performace than manually. With manual mixture and adjusting for best rpm , I was doing 300-350 fpm while at around 70 kias. Auto-mixture, actually let me achieve closer to 500 fpm.Didn't look at the runway from spot view, or any markers, but I must have at least had 1/4 left.Yes, as previously said, switch to the Mooney or something. I don't like the 172's takeoff/climb performance for these altitudes, although it's no problem to usually fly one at 9000-11000', depending on density altitude.L.Adamson

Guest CFAOA