Sign in to follow this  
Guest lawyerpilot

$50 -- a serious challenge to the Avsim community!!!

Guest lawyerpilot

Two years ago, I began flying in the real world after flying sims for about 15 years. FLY and MS were instrumental in saving me thousands of dollars in training as well as keeping me proficient, now that I have my instrument rating, and am about to complete my commercial and multiengine. I am now in my second year of law school and have decided that the rest of my life will be devoted to aviation. Teaching aviation law classes, working in the business of aviation, utilizing my law degree to help pilots, etc. And simming has helped me come to this realization. Particularly after getting the chance to take a 3 hour ride in Boeing's Full Motion MD-11 and MD-90 sim in Long Beach last week.Why do I tell this story. Very little of this could have been possible, or if it was, it would have been much later, had it not been for the efforts of Mr. Harvey and the MS team. So, I make this challenge. I am a law student, scraping by, trying to afford flying and living while going to school. With that being said, I have contributed $100 to the Richard Harvey Scholarship Fund. I expect that I will donate a total of $500 by month end. As the goal is only $10,000 initially for a self-sustaining scholarship, I challenge everyone here to match my contribution at only a 10% level. Many of you have salaries, as I did two years ago, and if we are truly dedicated to the simulation and real world community, and helping other college age individuals to realize our enjoyment and passion, than there is no better way, short of becoming a flight instructor.I know the budget constraints that many face, but I challenge each and every one of you to donate $50 by April 1st. That means with only 200 of the 6000 registered members, or 5% participation, we will meet the goal!!!!!WE HAVE THIS CAPABILITY.......I could go on, but I will leave it at that. We all have dreams and aspirations,