Sign in to follow this  
Guest Jim Knows

Can't use Google? Really? Maybe MapTiler/gdaltiles?

Guest Jim Knows

Really??!!If I am reading things right. with my limited knowledge, there appears to be links out there where Google is helping people how to use their product for use on their own website, whether u want to make overlays (meaning tiles) or other use for FREE !!! They even give you plugins, code and instructions for programmers on how to do it. I will offer some links that might be of interest. However, regardless, I am no software programmer guru. In the little bit of reading I did, I quickly realized this exceeds my pay grade. So if I'm reading what I think I'm reading, it might be of some value to TileProxy and yet again, it might mean nothing. Anyways, I'll post the links that caught my attention. You advanced tech folks out there could maybe tell us TileProxy lovers like myself whether what I am reading is worth anything or not for the TileProxy community.I'm curious to hear what some of you have to say about these links which also involves a Map Overlay Generator for Google Maps and Google Earth. Actually all of these links somehow interconnect with MapTiler/GDAL2Tiles Projecthttp://www.maptiler.org/google-maps-coordi...nds-projection/http://www.klokan.cz/projects/gdal2tiles/http://www.maptiler.org/http://help.maptiler.org/betatest/And here is another one from OSGEO offering an open source called "Tile Map Service", plus I beleive the code is there needed to incorporate the thing into TileProxy under <Services>. Thats at:http://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/Tile_Map_Service_SpecificationI am very curious what folks have to say about these links/sublinks.PLEASE POST....

Guest cbuchner1

These services all seem to be within the rules set by the Terms of Use of Google Maps.Using Tileproxy is not, which they made clear to me.

Guest Jim Knows