Sign in to follow this  
ExternalUse

Runway/Star Transitions

Dear all,I have to admit that I'm still a bloody beginner with Flightplans and FMC (and the 744 in general). However, having read the FMC documentation, several explanations about SIDs and Stars I feel I'm slowly getting to terms with it.From Gatwick EGKK to Hamburg EDDH for example, I got a route from vatroute. Start of the route was Dover DVR, and so I could find a SID that ends in DVR (I believe it was DVR8M or so, don't have FMC or charts in front of me now, sorry) which then seemlessly integrated into my flightplan - not even a route discontinuity.Now, the given route to EDDH ends at RIBSO. What I'm now trying to figure out is, how by looking at the airport/star charts I can figure out which one would fit best from RIBSO. Additionally, choosing a runway _and_ a transition and then choosing a star for that runway (not all of which I can always find on my chart, although both the FMS cycle and the chart are up-to-date) I also get the offer to choose a transition for that Star. Blindly choosing something that looks sort of allright gives some really weird zigzag and circles on the map.It's also not always clear to me to which runway a certain star belongs, I seem unable to read the charts properly. The FMC tells me, though; and I hope that is a reliable source.Could one of you experienced guys please take a little time to point me to some more literature or explain in an example how you choose, given your last route point and a "guessed" runway (based on wheather), the best possible star/transition from there? There must be a way to properly choose the in-between the last route point and the runway - I leave ATC out of the picture for now, as of course they might mess up your fine plan anyway. If could spare a word what the "transition" on both runways and Stars are for and whether I have to choose either/or or both, that'd be greatly appreciated.As always, many, many thanks in advance,Stefan