Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest Disasterman

Too much trim during landing

Hello everyone I have a big problem when I try to land the big birds like 747-400. The elevator trim is going crazy and the nose of the plane is at 15-20 degrees up and eventually it stalls. What am I doing wrong?Also another question, the trim during level cruise should be 0?Thanks in advance, newbie here :(.I am looking forward to your replies!!!!

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

I suppose you are talking about the stock B744 here.Unless the autopilot is active during landing (which it shouldnt in the stock aircraft for the obvious reason: no autoland), the trim aint doing anything you dont tell it to do. At least I have never seen or heard something like that. In real aircraft you usually have multiple trim switches to prevent a trim runaway, that you probably wont have on your joystick. A trim runaway might eventually occur when you have the trim switch stuck. Quite unusual, but might happen, I don't know... Nevertheless you might want to check your joystick/key assignments.The nose isnt simply at 15-20