Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Jc202

PMDG takeoff

Hi so I'm new to the pmdg 747-400 but I am positive that I am entering all of the necessary information correctly within the fmc. So I would power up press to/ga and pitch up press vnav and autopilot the shortly after lnav. The problem is that everything is good until I reach 10000 it always stay ther even if it is now in the legs and I don't know why. It does not go to the desired altitude assigned to it in legs in the fmc. It will turn at points set and still be at that altitude an no the v/s and altitude lights or not on. What am I doing wrong?Tremaine Yates

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Hi Tremaine,did you try to change the ALT by Alt knob and click on it? It is the window next to V/S. There you set maximum Altitude you get aprovement from ATC or Initial climb that is set for every airport. It has to be set before také off.Petr

Did you set the MCP altitude in concordance with your desired alt?I always set it to my cruise alt prior takeoff, since I don't use ATC.

Does speed remain at 250 knots when reaching 10,000 feet? I can think of three functional items that are controlling altitude, MCP altitude window, the legs page and the VNAV page where cruise altitude is set. If VNAV cruise is set to 10,000 and VNAV is active, I would guess it would level off at 10,000 even with the MCP at higher. Try flight level change at 10,000 with MCP altitude higher. It should climb.

I guess having the knob at 10 000 may b the issue but I thought the vnav with the Sid would automatically adjust the aircraft to climb and and attain what altitude in terms of the limits of the area. I assumed that it would follow these constraints rather than go to the altitude that was selected.Tremaine Yates