Sign in to follow this  
BlueStar

Prepar3d and the Weather

To the Developers of Prepar3d,If this has been addressed earlier, my apologies and please direct me to the appropriate.thread.I have been flying in the military and commercially for over 40 years. Needless to say I have spent my fair share of time in simulators startinig with the Link. My current home based PC based simulator is FSX with ASE and FSUIPC to eliminate some of the weather anomolies. FSX is enjoyable and I have found some of the add-ons to be very good. What I am looking for in a PC based simulator is a good flight model and a good weather model. I hear complaints about the FSX flight model, but it is better than some of the DC10 and B747 simulators I flew back in the '90. The weather engine and its effects on the aircraft need improving in my opinion. The improvements in the weather engine I would like to see include better representation of inflight icing including rime and clear icing. The effect of runway icing needs to be improved. When is the last time an FSX aircraft slid off an icy runway? Another improvement in FSX is the simulation of thunderstorms. In the summer time I see tops above 50,000 feet or greater, but I have not seen this in FSX. If there is any turbulence associaed with the FSX thunderstorms I missed it. The addition of wind shear would be nice. If I purchase a commercial license, does that include all future upgrades and updates? Thanks for your time,Bill Bridges

I Earned My Spurs in Vietnam