Sign in to follow this  
Valar

Best add-ons for newbie

Hi allSorry to hijack this topic, but I'm new to X-Plane 10 as well and I have a few general questions I hope you can help with.It concerns the planes. How much better are the payware aircraft compared to the aircraft you get with the Global DVD set? For example: are the 3D cockpits in the payware (or freeware) aircraft in a higher resolution? If so I'll definitely buy some. The default aircraft in x-plane 10 look a little blurred both inside and outside.Also is it worth waiting for dedicated x-10 aircraft? I notice that currently there doesn't seem to be any aircraft designed exclusively for x-10 (or perhaps its because all planes are backwards compatible?). As for scenery I am also supremely confused. Can you guys recommend a piece of scenery that will work with X-10? And finally, if you could recommend one general utility plane (not a heavy, please :-)) that I should get, which one would it be?Thanks for your time.

Hi Valar,For me the difference is vast between stock and payware aircraft and you should go definitely for payware aircraft having higher res textures internally and externally. AFAIK there is little support for payware aircraft for XP10 (I could be mistaken) there are notable exceptions as well, and developers are working on updates as XP10 is getting more stable and mature so this is matter of time. About scenery this is a whole new thing for me in XP10 so I'm not sure. If you are looking for great payware aircraft there are lots of great planes and if you want smaller planes you should look Carenado, X-Aviation, air.C74.net, Armchair Aviation, Heinz Aircraft, DDenn Design, J Rollon and many more. Look at X-Plane.org so you can make your choice.Good luck,Alex

Alexander Colka

Thank you alexcolka, I kind of suspected this was the case. I'll hurry over and buy something right now :-)

WOW! I just bought the V35 from Carenado and the difference is like night and day! It's like a different sim.