Sign in to follow this  
Ss944

Fsx on my iMac

Hi all

I'm a relatively new fsx user, I've been playing fsx for a few months on my old windows machine and am thinking of installing windows on my iMac (27" iMac i5 ) using bootcamp. I've read through the forums and understand this can be done. I was wondering if anyone can clarify the following for me

The size of the windows partition, I've already bought utx,gex and Rex.i plan on getting a couple of orbx airports and scenery in the coming months. I have bought myself a few planes as well in the past couple of months that I have been playing.

Windows 7 or windows xp ? I have seen a couple of reads suggesting xp is better for xp.

Are there any other gotchas when installing fsx on the Mac?

Appreciate the help.

Thanks

The size of the windows partition,

Well, since you have a bunch of addons, I would suggest at least 100 Gb for Windows. If you are going to use Windows for things other than FSX as well, I would create a partition between 200 and 500 Gb, depending on what you are going to use it for, and how much you are going to use it.

Windows 7 or windows xp ?

I have found that Windows 7 works better, but there are some quirks like Aero glass being disabled (there are fixes).

Absolutely imperative... make sure Windows 7 is 64 bit and not 32 bit, that way you will take advantage of the extra memory that is delivered through the 64bit program.

Howard
MSI Mag B650 Tomahawk MB, Ryzen7-7800X3D CPU@5ghz, Arctic AIO II 360 cooler, Nvidia RTX3090 GPU, 32gb DDR5@6000Mhz, SSD/2Tb+SSD/500Gb+OS, Corsair 1000W PSU, Philips BDM4350UC 43" 4K IPS, MFG Crosswinds, TQ6 Throttle, Fulcrum One Yoke
My FlightSim YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/@skyhigh776

Hi