Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Alcides Segovia

VASI inaccurate

Hello everyone. 

I have been flying FS since 2004. I have gone through quite a learning curve ever since I started. I remember when I discovered that planes fly normally at 28000 or above for cruise. I used to level off at 3000  :lol: .

Today I come because I have discovered something else that is troubling me. 

I normally fly PMDG NGX. CS 757 and Level D 767. Those are my aircraft to fly. My landing descent rate averages about 250 ft/M. 

I normally fly the approach as a intercept to an instrument approach then about 7 NM out I disengage and continue following the glide slope and the Localizer. 

I always try to land at the TDZE or the White Blocks.. Anything over that for me and it seems to me like by the time I flare and finally touch down it will eat up alot of runway and normally ends me in the lines but way to far from the blocks in my opinion.

The thing is that both my ILS and VASI are showing me below the glide slope at about 500 ft above the ground when I am approaching the runway. 

So my question is. When do I stop following the ILS or the VGSI?

Do I strictly follow it regardless and land where ever it takes me to land as long as it is safe to stop or can I brake off when I see prudent to land at the TDZE.?

Thanks

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

I think your observation is absolutely valid.

You should disregard both (VASI and ILS) when below 200 ft AGL.

I don't have enough RW experience to say, but, in FSX, I do disregard the VASIs when I'm over the approach lights.  If I didn't I'd be way down the runway before I touched down.  I just keep the runway 'picture' looking the same and fly it down at the correct speed.