Sign in to follow this  
mseelbinder

To partition or not to partition?

I have just received my new computer, which will be primarily dedicated to running P3D.

It came with Windows 8, and I have upgraded it to 8.1.  I loaded P3D, and have made a few flights ... so far, so good.

But I noticed upon checking usage of the 1 TB hard drive, that P3D loaded into the C: partition, where all the operating system resides.  It is now 66% occupied (100 GB out of 150 GB.)

Scanning the forum, I have seen several mention loading P3D into its own partition.  My "Data" partition (D:) is empty ... 760 GB of free space.

So my question, should I uninstall P3D and reinstall it into the empty partition?  If I don't, will the C: partition dynamically expand if I start reaching the upper limits of its capacity?  I'm a bit new to the whole partitioning concept ... I know what they are, but not how to best utilize them.

Thanks for you help!

Mark 

I fully recommend having a dedicated partition only for the sim. That way should you want to install an ssd later you could without disturbing any other application including the OS. You can also lessen the cost of the upgrade by entertaining smaller ssd drives..... Although later on, depending on how much add ons you accumulate, I'm pretty sure there won't be an ssd big enough! Lol

rparson99 -

That makes sense to me. But let me ask the question with a slightly different perspective:

Are there any negatives to installing it on its own partition?  Such as:

• Will there be any performance penalty by having it on its own partition?
  • Are there any added complexities in file handling, other than just pointing to the folder(s) residing in the "data" partition? 

Thanks, again.

Mark

Whatever partition you put it on is on the same drive and therefore will have the same speed as any other so yes absolutely, uninstall and create a partition just for P3d, and make it at least 1/3 to half of your terabyte ...

I'm serious ...