Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

The AVSIM Community

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

The "Genuine Simulation" A380 scam is taking a step further, don't fall for it !

Featured Replies

What amazes me though is as unscrupulous as these people are, people here would take the risk and freely go to and post links to their site, which itself could have been infested with viruses and malware. 

Thanks

Tom

My Youtube Videos!

http://www.youtube.com/user/tf51d

  • Replies 185
  • Views 40.5k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

DAMN... the site is up again... with a different provider :( thats really frustrating

DAMN... the site is up again... with a different provider :( thats really frustrating

 

 

They faked awards from a lot of flightsim sites, including AVSIM. Lots of copyrights involved in that scam ...

 

And they even added a "Surprise! Surprise!" stamp.   :unsure:

What happened to AVSIM

Sorry but I am really getting to an end of opportunities here. What shall we do on this??? Right now, I am afraid that there is no other way than accept this. I simply cannot run after them hunting them down every time they switch the webhost... its so frustrating and energy consuming. Also, sueing someone located in Iran here from Germany is nearly impossible. Who knows what kind of copyright laws they have over there in Iran?? Or if they even exist for internet copyright abuse?? Really... I don't know what to do anymore.

I would propose contacting the company who registered the domain and try to shut the domain off. As far as I can see, this would be Online NIC, according to the whois.

There are lawyers among us flightsimmers; we have simmers from Iran; lots of flightsim sites quoted in that scam - any editors, legal advisors, people with experience in Iranian law around?


I would propose contacting the company who registered the domain and try to shut the domain off. As far as I can see, this would be Online NIC, according to the whois.

 

 

... and those are situated in the U.S.A. which might make things a bit easier.

What happened to AVSIM

Edit: Although I must admit that personally, I am juuust a little bit disappointed that PMDG didn't even answer me, when I notified them about the copied text from their website and asking for help to take down the site. ;) it's okay, I don't care as it worked out well anyway in the end, but after all, we are all members of the community and in this case - developers with common interests to take down the site... so no need for competetitive thoughts whatsoever ;) just my 2 cents

I suggest PMDG has more important things to worry about.

Gerry Howard

last attempt of the provider to shut it down... lets see how long it will last.

Well their old adress doesn't work

------------------------
Regards, Otto Schäfer

They are really stupid. The scam is so known across the flight sim community that no one in their right mind is going to fall for it. GS are just losing money as they're paying for the website to be hosted.

GS are just losing money as they're paying for the website to be hosted.

Of course, that is assuming they are legitimately paying for the hosting service. I rather suspect that they are not. (ie. stolen credit card information)

StoneC0ld_zps439869f4.png

Declared weather:  FSX: ASN / FS9: ASE

 

Of course, that is assuming they are legitimately paying for the hosting service. I rather suspect that they are not. (ie. stolen credit card information)

There is that concern.

Unbelievable... they got their site back up again (somehow??? I need to investigate...) selling it now for 339,00 USD ... holy *******. This is just hilarious.

Unbelievable... they got their site back up again (somehow??? I need to investigate...) selling it now for 339,00 USD ... holy *******. This is just hilarious.

For a few dollars more Airbus will sell you a real one! ^_^

 

Sauviat

Martin Parr

Retired professional yacht skipper for vessels up to 46m

 

System: Omen 40L GT13-0054na Gaming PC; Windows 11 Home  64-bit OS; Intel Core i9-10900K CPU @ 3.7GHz; RAM 32GB; Samsung S34J55x Monitor 3440x1440 @75 Hz Resolution; NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4080 Ti. MSFS P/D; TM Pendular Rudder Pedals, TM Warthog Hortas Throttle/Joystick Combo.

Seems the site is down again (based on the original URL that I have at least).

 

Hopefully it stays down.

 

The scary thing I'm finding with them based on their current behaviour is that when NLS releases their A380, I will not be surprised if they alter their site to make it look like they are in a "partnership" - i.e. an authorised retailer of NLS' aircraft.

 

--Xavier

"If lightning is the anger of the gods, the gods are concerned mostly with trees."

-- Lao Tse (6th Century BCE)

Banner_MJC5.png

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

Account

Navigation

Search

Search

Configure browser push notifications

Chrome (Android)
  1. Tap the lock icon next to the address bar.
  2. Tap Permissions → Notifications.
  3. Adjust your preference.
Chrome (Desktop)
  1. Click the padlock icon in the address bar.
  2. Select Site settings.
  3. Find Notifications and adjust your preference.