Sign in to follow this  
KingGhidorah

Virus Warning, need some recommendations

Just got a popup.

Object: C:\programfiles(x86)\EZCA\EZCA.exe

Threat: a variant of Win32/Packed.Thermida suspicious application

Error while Cleaning

Event occurred during an attempt to run the file by the application C:Windows\System32\rundll32.exe

My option is to Delete or to Ignore, and if I delete it, then there goes Ezdok.

I had booted up the computer and hadn't run FSX or done anything at all.  Ezdok has been installed for years now, and no recent updates or changes to it.  I recall seeing the same "Thermida" thing once or twice associated with a Flight1 wrapper, and it was a false alarm. 

What would my fellow flight simmers do with this?  Ignore it?  I don't want to have to go through the rigamarole of reinstalling Ezdok, and having to fool around with setting it up again.  My inclination is to blow it off.   Has anybody else gotten an alarm on this recently?

I am no computer expert, I haven't even heard of that "Thermidor" thing before, so I might be wrong here. However, I have the feeling that a. given the amount of people using Ezdok (and its relative age, plus no recent updates) it is unlikely that it actually is dangerous, and b. you say that this particular warning occured to you in context with the Fligth1 wrapper (which IIRC is also how Ezdok is sold?), which I also highly doubt to be malware.

Furthermore, I have had the experience that certain Anti-virus programs regard many flight sim addons as potential threats, simply because they're not so common. Why shouldn't that be the case with this particular program?

So ultimately, I'd most likely try to have a closer look at what Ezdok might be doing, but in general I would still consider it safe and ignore the warnings.

You may also be able to go to your Anti-virus program and tell it that EZDOK is a safe program and to ignore warnings for it.

Charlie Aron