Sign in to follow this  
ErichB

For those who have come from FSX/P3D

I've been reading a number of forum posts on DCS and it clearly seems that the physics modeling and systems modeling cannot evn be compared to FSX/P3D.  From what I am reading, it seems as though DCS might be placing me at risk of diverting all of my flightsim budget in favour of it as opposed to P3D.

Has anyone made a semi-permanent move to this sim away from FSX/P3D.  There seems to be alot of great aircraft being developed for it now.   

I have not actually done any flying in DCS yet, but for those who are familiar with it, what it the most striking difference when flying in DCS compared to FSX/P3D?

Me :-)

I have been using flightsims since 1987, when one of my university teachers showed me FS3 on a MAC :-) 

Got my PPL in 1980, and after 2000 started seeking the "perfect" flightsim, with my main aim being, above all, flight dynamics and accurate / detailed systems modeling.

I used about all versions of MSFS, started also using xp since version 7, and in the middle I tried many other simulators, most civil since I was never fond of combat flight.

I had bought the Combat Flight Simulator series 1, 2 and 3, but played each for only one or two weeks. Also tried Jane's WW2 fighters loooong ago, and CYAC... Then I tried the first version of IL2 Sturmovik.

Somehow, I always returned to civil flight simulators in the hope that someday, somehow, the flight dynamics could equal what, by that time, I was already finding a lot more plausibly modeled in combat flight simulators. I used my P3D v2 refund top buy RoF an almost all of it's DCLs in a recent Anniversary Sales Promotion :-)

Regarding civil flightsims, by far the one that gave me the most rewarding experiences was Aerowinx PS1, now thanksfuly about to be replaced by the new Aerowinx PSX! As a PS1 user, MSFS ( 9 and then X), and even Flight Gear, soon became scenery generators for it, on a two PC setup I used for some years.