Sign in to follow this  
linux731

Breaking: Air Algerie Losses Contact With Airplane For Over 9 Hours

Recommended Posts

http://www.itv.com/news/update/2014-07-24/air-algerie-loses-contact-with-plane-from-burkina-faso/



This is the airplane in question. It is a 18-years-old MD-83 and can seat 167.
This airplane's flight history. It flew to Batna, Algeria from Paris yesterday. It is one of only 5 Swiftair MD-83s being operated by Air Algerie.
For those confused about timezones:
Departure airport (Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso) is at timezone GMT+0, and the arrival airport (Algiers, Algeria) is at timezone GMT+1. Pacific time is GMT-7. Eastern time is GMT-4.
The departure time is 1:17AM Thu = 6:17PM PT Wed = 9:17PM ET Wed. It took off 32 min later than the scheduled 12:45AM local time.
The (expected) arrival time is 6:10AM Thu = 10:10PM PT Wed = 1:10AM ET Thu. This is 30 min later than the scheduled 5:40AM local time.
It was last in contact 38 minutes after takeoff at 0155 GMT Thu = 6:55PM PT Wed = 9:55PM ET Wed. This would place the plane over Mali.
As of this post, the plane has been out of contact for almost 9 hours. It went unreported for a long time.

Share this post


Link to post
Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Law of averages kicking in, was a long time between accidents until the last few months,

Just for once lets get a good outcome!

Share this post


Link to post

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this