Sign in to follow this  
Vinny002

DC-6 autopilot

Hi, guys!

I'm new to DC-6. I'm having troubles with the autopilot like when I turn on the gyropilot and the autopilot lever the plane rolls to the right when the gyropilot selector mode is set to pilot, I turned both the gyropilot and the autopilot lever on and then I set the gyropilot selector mode to localizer, the plane rolls to the left, and when I turn on the gyropilot and turn on the autopilot lever, and turn on the altitude control the plane dives down towards the ground. Any solution for this problem? Thanks!

Cheers,

Vincent

Make sure that the aircraft is properly trimmed first so that you can let go of the yoke and it will be stable, then set the giropilot (autopilot) switch on, then the mechanical lever up, then set the pointer knob on top to giropilot.  You should go wings level.

Use the big knob at the top of the pedestal to turn the aircraft until you intercept your radial.  Set the knob on top to "Localizer" and if you have your GPS set to VLOC, your aircraft will follow the radial "TO" or "FROM" the VOR, depending what heading you have set.

Hi, FSXtreme!

Where is the pointer knob located on the pedestal? How to change heading with the autopilot on? I noticed other thing is the captain's gyro compass won't turn when the airplane turn, but the co-pilot's gyro compass turn when the airplane turn. Thanks!

Cheers

Vincent

Where is the pointer knob located on the pedestal? How to change heading with the autopilot on? I noticed other thing is the captain's gyro compass won't turn when the airplane turn, but the co-pilot's gyro compass turn when the airplane turn. Thanks!

Welcome to the forum. Full names - first and last - are required to be in posts.

Fly Tutorial #1. It goes over all of the stuff you need to know for the basic operation of the aircraft, to include the AP.

Kyle Rodgers

Hi, scandinavian13!