Sign in to follow this  
airernie

777 - Pilot's Seat

Just bought the 777, but found that the Pilot's seat is too far forward and blocking the view of the pedestal and front panel.

According to the feature photos in the manual there is supposed to be a handle which allows for setting the seat forward or backwards, but I have yet to find it on either the pilot or co-pilot's seat.

I also couldn't find anything in the manuals about adjusting the seats, so until I can move the seat the 777 remains grounded.

Any clue as to how I can find the handles?

Ernie

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Various combinations of the Control, Shift, Return and Backspace keys will shift your viewpoint about in a VC.

I think maybe he means the actual seat animation is blocking his view maybe?

I think maybe he means the actual seat animation is blocking his view maybe?

Correct..  That's why changing the eyepoint or using a camera wouldn't work.

I'm new to the 777 myself and I haven't found how to move the seat. But when you first enter the cockpit, the seat is moved back by default, so I don't see how moving it forward can help. I use Ezdok, and what the guys said above is true. Adjusting your eye point further forward will allow you to see everything.

If you don't use Ezdok you can still adjust your eye point, but I can't remember if it resets to default if you go to another view.

I would definitely recommend Ezdok if you don't already have it. I find it impossible to fly without it these days. It's not expensive, and they've recently released version 2. I'm still on version 1 myself, but version 2 is meant to be much better.

It occurred to me that perhaps a photo might help explain the issue better.

the first if for the 777; http://fsfiles.org/flightsimshotsv2/image/GCJG

Notice how the headrest blocks the pedestal on the right side.  BTW, the panel view isn't as bad as I thought.