Sign in to follow this  
steve40

Inverted coastal waves in P3D v4 - and a solution

I don't know if it is just me, but in my P3D v4 installation the coastal waves effect is inverted so the tail of the wave is actually moving ahead of the wave!

I fixed this by using DXTBMP to flip all channels in textures "fx_swoosh.bmp" and "fx_swoosh2.bmp" from top-to-bottom (both these files are in the Effects\Texture folder).

- Steve

• Upvote 4

I can confirm the same here. Tks for the solution.

Cheers

Pierre

Oh, that was bothering me.  Thanks for the saying how to fix it!

Steve,

Thanks for posting, the wavers were looking weird to me as well.  Great job with the quick fix.

Is it possible for you to post the corrected swoosh.bmp and swoosh2.bmp files?  I have no experience manipulating bmp files. 

Is there a bug reporting system in P3D?

2 hours ago, jhelix70 said:

Steve,

Thanks for posting, the wavers were looking weird to me as well.  Great job with the quick fix.

Is it possible for you to post the corrected swoosh.bmp and swoosh2.bmp files?  I have no experience manipulating bmp files. 

Sorry to be a buzz kill but posting copyrighted material in an open forum is a violation of Avsim TOS and will result in suspension of posting privileges. Asking for someone to send it to you in an open forum is also a violation.

Vic

RIG#1 - 7700K 5.0g ROG X270F 3600 15-15-15 - EVGA RTX 3090 1000W PSU 1- 850G EVO SSD, 2-256G OCZ SSD, 1TB,HAF942-H100 Water W1064Pro
40" 4K Monitor 3840x2160 - AS16, ASCA, GEP3D, UTX, Toposim, ORBX Regions, TrackIR
RIG#2 - 3770K 4.7g Asus Z77 1600 7-8-7 GTX1080ti DH14 850W 2-1TB WD HDD,1tb VRap, Armor+ W10 Pro 2 - HannsG 28" Monitors

Thanks for the info; I thought that might be the case, that is why I asked "Is it possible" .

Is flipping the alpha a sure fix that wont break anything else? cause I found similar textures in FSX installation with similar looking alpha.

Interesting... perhaps you should post this solution on the official LM forums?