mtbparker

P3Dv4 CTD During Descent. Solved... (I'm pretty sure)

Hey Folks,

For the sake of record and to help the next guy in line, I'd like to report that I had a fairly predictable CTD with P3Dv4 and that I'm pretty sure I fixed it.

I flew three flights with the PMDG 777:  1) KDEN->KIAD, 2) KDEN->KIAD, 3) KDEN->KIAH.   All three flights crashed to desktop during the descent on the arrival.  Typically around the FL240 mark, which for me is when I start mucking around a lot with things for landing -- particularly the FMC.  For flights 1 & 2, it happened in almost the exact same spot over MGW VOR on the GIBBZ2 arrival.  Flight 3 was almost the same except of course that I was in a different location.  That eliminates a scenery issue.  Using AppCrashView, I could see that all 3 CTDs were occurring in clr.dll which is associated with .NET framework.

I upgraded my .NET framework from 4.5 to 4.7.  I also cleaned out several versions of .NET 4.6.   (I'm a SW developer by trade and had Visual Studio 2015 Community Edition installed which brought with it a whole host of .NET libraries.  I uninstalled all of that too.)  My fourth flight, from KDEN->KIAH was successful.

My system setup:

EVGA X99 w/ Intel 5930K CPU
8GB RAM
256GB Samsung EVO SSD for Win10 Anniv Ed. OS
256GB Samsung NVMe 950 M.2 SSD for P3D
4TB Western Digital HD for storage.
EVGA GTX 970 Graphics Card

P3Dv4 4.0.23.21468
ASP4 w/ ASCA B6383
Orbx, all available base packages and NA regions
PMDG 777
FSDreamTeam / FlightBeam KIAH, KIAD, KDEN
A2A Commanche, A2A C182

I hope this helps.  Also, I've only had one successful flight.  But the crash was pretty repeatable, so my confidence is high that I got it.

Cheers,

Tom

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Good day, 

I just had the exact same issue coming into KIAH from OMDB PMDG 777. I have had it a few times while flying through Canada. I thought it could have been AS4 or UTlive, I kept them off for a while and it changed nothing.