Sign in to follow this  
John_Cillis

P3DV4 or XP11?

I was forced to replace my old desktop with a new one.  My new rig is from MSI, 3.6 GHZ, 8 GB ram, 1060 GTX GPU.

I ran the Valley Benchmark and received 70 fps, almost triple the fps from my old system.

I'd like to know which sim to get?  I am leaning towards XP-11 now but P3dV4 is also of interest.  One thing I did not like about Xp was the user interface.  I prefer FSX style keyboard commands, old habit I guess.  But XP11 looks nice graphically, a little more realistic than FSX.

Any thoughts about these sims?  FSW looks to gamey to me, no third party support, too early in its development.

Simming is my main computer hobby.  I would also consider FSX steam but P3D seems better.

Also, if I go P3D, what license should I buy?

John

Are you going to be sticking with default stuff or are you planning on getting add-ons. If so, what add-ons would you want. I have no experience with X-Plane, so I couldn't help you there, but for me personally, I wouldn't want to get it as I primarily fly the PMDG Boeing 747-400, so for me, P3D V4 is a no-brainer.

Captain Kevin

nGsKmfi.jpg

Air Kevin 124 heavy, wind calm, runway 4 left, cleared for take-off.

Live streams of my flights here.

37 minutes ago, Cactus521 said:

Also, if I go P3D, what license should I buy?

John

John,

Licensing questions are against the Avsim TOS. Read the license options on the P3D website and pick the one that applies to your situation. We can discuss it further than that on Avsim.

Aside from that, while I like the look of XP11, I'd go to P3D mainly due to the payware addon market having more choices, namely the PMDG planes since that's what I fly primarly. Plus XP11 is still lacking the seasons and AI isn't quite up to P3D standards yet.

Better yet, try both. XP11 has a demo and P3D offers a refund once you purchase it.

• Upvote 1

Avsim Board of Directors | Avsim Forums Moderator