Sign in to follow this  
1230james

None of my addons can find SimConnect

Is this the right place to post this? I have no idea; this is my first time posting here

So I just finished a system reformat, since one of the SimConnect installers was refusing to work. I was trying to get FSXWX and GSX to work, but it kept returning errors that stated that apparently SimConnect wasn't installed. It had worked fine before (Also have FSX:SE installed), but I tried to use the SimConnect installers that come with P3Dv4 anyway.

After the reformat, I reinstalled P3D and ran all the SimConnect installers. They all worked fine, and all versions show up in the Programs and Features list. Following advice from various other forums, I restarted after finishing the installation.

FSXWX still couldn't find SimConnect.

GSX also stopped working for FSX:SE after reinstalling those, and their forums led me to Dependency Walker. After running it on couatl.exe, it stated that SimConnect.dll was missing. On top of that, running the FSXWX executable displays this.

Some other forum posts recommended uninstalling and reinstalling all the VC++ 2005 and 2013 redists, so I did that. Restarted my computer afterwards just to be safe.
Still nothing.

I've got no other ideas; it seems that SimConnect just does not want to be my friend anymore. Anyone got any ideas?

The legacy installers for simconnect in P3D were installed in P3D.  Not in FSX-SE. 

In your Steam FSX folder look in SDK\Core Utilities Kit\SimConnect SDK\LegacyInterfaces\FSX-XPACK\ .  You should see SimConnect.msi in that folder. FSX-SE uses a custom version of simconnect.

Best regards,

Jim

Jim Young | AVSIM Online! - Simming's Premier Resource!

Member, AVSIM Board of Directors - Serving AVSIM since 2001

Submit News to AVSIM
Important other links: Basic FSX Configuration Guide | AVSIM CTD Guide | AVSIM Prepar3D Guide | Help with AVSIM Site | Signature Rules | Screen Shot Rule | AVSIM Terms of Service (ToS)