Sign in to follow this  
alhefner

Looking for advice/opinions for better scenery/textures

I'm running P3D V4. I fly out of the Reno-Tahoe international airport a lot and am quite disappointed in the way the stock scenery represents the high desert terrain... just looks like a muted, solid, coloration on the ground. So, I'm looking to improve that representation! Some brush and realistic trees would be nice. Better looking, and better represented, rock formations too.

However, I'm fairly new to all of this so, I'm really sort of unsure what to look for, where to look for it, and what I might get out of any addon that I would chose.

A bit of advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Al

I would start with Orbx Global and North America Landclass.

If you fly west, the Northern California Region is really nice :happy:

Bert

ORBX FTX Global BASE Pack, FTX Global VECTOR and FTX Global openLC North America are three things you can add to your simulator to really make the earth below look a lot better. Their product pages give you a good idea of what each does and how they work together.

Two things you can do for trees are ORBX Global Trees HD or Turbulent Designs Terra Flora. Both products do the exact same thing which is replace the default autogen trees with better looking more realistically placed plant life. So that is completely subjective to which one you like, it's all a matter of your opinion and which you think looks better.

And if you wanted to get even more precise you can look into ORBX NA Northern California. The border of it's coverage area comes right up to Lake Tahoe, not quite Reno, but very close. Then if you were looking into an airport, ORBX also makes a really good KTVL Lake Tahoe Airport. 

• Upvote 1

Is it done yet? When will it be released? Will it be freeware or payware? How much will it cost? Any updates on the progress? Will it work for Xbox? Can I be a beta tester? How's the performance in VR?

39 minutes ago, alhefner said: