Sign in to follow this  
Terry O'Brien

Need help flying redirection by ATC

I have been flying the 737-NGX for 2 years now programming the FMC to land at a given airport on a given runway. I can land to plane no problem using the auto pilot. My BIG problem is what do I do when ATC redirects me to land on a different runway than the one I programmed into the FMC. I don't have a clue on how to proceed. I need to know what steps I need to take to either reprogram the FMC to land on the runway ATC has instructed me to land on or the steps required to abort the FMC program and do a manual landing. While the current flight simulators are a wonderful tool and an awesome experience I have found it difficult to find a PROGRESSIVE learning path. I admit there is no one close to me who I can verbally ask questions of. Most of my time is spent scratching my head or on the Internet and YouTube searching for information that fits my particular requirements usually without success. The steps required to find solutions for "WHAT IF" scenarios is sadly lacking.

It would be very nice if I could find someone experienced with whom I could correspond by e-mail with my questions or who lives in Vancouver  Canada area. I am willing to share my simulator with anyone who is interested.

PM me if you are interested.

Edited by Terry O'Brien

Terry,

First of all I would never put my email address in an "open to the public" posting.  If I were you I would edit your post to remove it and then ask interested people to PM you for your address.