Sign in to follow this  
ErichB

Chaseplane outage - we are a harsh crowd.

Yesterday's outage showed two things. 

1.  The simming crowd are fickle and change attitude like the wind. 

2.  You are only as good as your last mistake in this business.

Thankfully I am not a developer - not sure how you guys deal with the flack you get when things go wrong, but it must be pretty disconcerting. But looking at yesterday's reactions, it does  show what a great product Chaseplane really is and how reliant people have become on it - even if it's still a beta.  (it was great even in Alpha).  I thought Opus and Ezdok were great,  but there's no way I'd want to go back to either anymore - not even as a backup.

Thanks for sorting it out quickly.  

• Upvote 1

It depends on how you want to see things. The outage might also have demonstrated how important your initial decisions (like being online obligation) can be at a later stage when developing a software...

• Upvote 2

Ahmet Can

5 minutes ago, costamesa said:

It depends on how you want to see things. The outage might also have demonstrated how important your initial decisions (like being online obligation) can be at a later stage when developing a software...

My commentary was more about the virtues of the product, not about business or infrastructure decisions.  We know offline is coming.

Yes and I agree with you. Mine was just another perspective.

CP is a great product. Or have the potential to be a great product. The reaction also shows how people are already relying on it even when it is only beta. And that is how people react when they are "deprived off" what they are relying.

Ahmet Can

1 hour ago, ErichB said:

Yesterday's outage showed two things. 

1.  The simming crowd are fickle and change attitude like the wind. 

2.  You are only as good as your last mistake in this business.