AstroEd

No electronics or programming knowledge.

I am new here and I am considering building a basic General Aviation cockpit with the Volair Sim and Saitek panels, HOWEVER!

I am wondering about learning to make my own custom panels run with Arduino or Rasberry Pi but I have absolutely no knowledge.

Can anyone suggest ways to learn Online the basic electronics skills needed for cockpit creation? I do not even own or know how to use a multimeter so no clue what tools to get what’s good what’s junk ( like would the Harbor Freight multimeters be ok to learn on or get a better one? I doubt I would want a $100+ device so let’s not go nuts)

Would a electronics kit help if so suggestions?

Would a Arduino builders kit help? Which one? I seen several on Amazon but not sure which kits would help me learn the skills for flight sim cockpits (Learning skills to build, use and maintain a CNC machine would be a plus)

I am a Disabled Veteran with short term memory issues and I am more of a visual learner than a book learner.

so main suggestions needed

Web sites (YouTube) to l from.

best kits (Electrical and Arduino, others? To learn on.

What are must have tools and equipment needed for the learning process.

Thank you in advance.

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Sorry to have wasted the posting space this was obviously a stupid set of questions could a moderator please delete this thread.

First off, these are not "stupid questions". I'm happy to see you pursue building your own cockpit and admire you for wanting to learn all you can to accomplish this. 

While I'm not an expert in cockpit building I think letting your post stand might result in someone with the knowledge to help you offering some assistance.

Hang in there and be patient. Good things can happen.

• Upvote 1

Can I blame the instant satisfaction world for my impatience? LOL