Sign in to follow this  
KL Oo

Intel i9 9900k to hit 5GHZ - Do you have one Rob?!

Hi All,

Understand it's speculation at this point however with a possible release date only 7 days away thought I'd throw the link out there and see what the mood from other simmers was? Details seem to point to a Turbo clock of 5GHZ on one of the 8 cores and high 4s on all the others. There are overclocking reports out there of 5.5GHZ being attainable.

I expect Rob Ainscough will have a comprehensive review up for us in short order!!

I have been putting off a new rig for about 6 months however will be looking to pull the trigger on one of these and the 1180 presuming the rumours are confirmed and we see some concrete details and a possible release date in August!

Edited by KL Oo

Kael Oswald

7950X3D / 64GB DDR5 6000 @ CL30 / Custom Water Loop / RTX 4090 / 3 x 50" 4K LCD TVs

A lot of cooling power that boy is going to need to hit those values, the i7 8700k can also hit 5GHZ, but needs to be delidded.

Marques

Ryzen 7 7700x@5.4Ghz | Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360| RTX 4070 ti | 32GB Ram @5600MHZ| Crucial MX 200 M.2 500GB |Crucial MX200 SATA 500GB | HTC Vive | XIAOMI 43" 4k TV | Acer Predator 27" G-Sync | AOC 32" Freesync

11 minutes ago, dmarques69 said:

A lot of cooling power that boy is going to need to hit those values, the i7 8700k can also hit 5GHZ, but needs to be delidded.

I have run my stock 8700k at 5.0GHz with with a Corsair H150i AIO with no problems.  Temps occasionally spike to 85C, but average around 75C when running P3D.  Only reason I don't stay at 5.0GHz is I dislike hearing the fans constantly cycling up and down.  I keep a steady 4.9GHz with barely noticeable fan cycling.

Edited by dmiannay
  • Upvote 1

Doug Miannay