Sign in to follow this  
Nkflyer

i5-8600K vs i7-8700 vs i7-8700k? Which one should I go with?

Hi everyone!

I'm currently in the process of building a new rig and need some hardware advice (I'm a beginner in the field). I just came off an FX-8350 processor and I'm switching over to the Intel lineup.

I'm currently debating between the i5-8600K, i7-8700 and i7-8700K, while balancing out a few criteria:

-I'm NOT planning to overclock anything, so I'll be using the stock clock speeds

-I'd like to minimize the need for any intense cooling systems on my machine and keep heat output to a minimum in general (I already have 2 fans from my previous machine that I'd like to use, and ideally I'd want to keep it at just those unless I absolutely need to buy specific fans)

-My budget is fairly flexible, but I'd still strongly prefer to minimize spending on the CPU if possible (so I'd go for the i5 if that's sufficient, but if absolutely necessary I can go with the more expensive option)

-I use some payware airports and aircraft (and I like a fair bit of AI traffic at airports to make them feel more alive - with at least 80% or so) - I have quite a few addons installed in general

So I guess what I'm getting at is: would it be possible to enjoy a smooth FSX experience on higher settings and more detailed scenery on an i5-8600K given the criteria above without an overclock, or would I need to bump up the CPU to the i7 to enjoy a good experience? Would it even be possible to do with my criteria in the first place on any of the CPUs?

I'm also using an RX470 GPU and will have 16GB of RAM.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! 🙂

1 hour ago, Nkflyer said:

I'm currently debating between the i5-8600K, i7-8700 and i7-8700K, while balancing out a few criteria:

-I'm NOT planning to overclock anything, so I'll be using the stock clock speeds

So I guess what I'm getting at is: would it be possible to enjoy a smooth FSX