Sign in to follow this  
FlyingEngineer

Blurry ground textures and delayed autogen loading

Hi everyone,

I am using Prepar3D v4.3 and have several problems including blurry textures, delayed autogen loading and black (airport & autogen) textures. I was able to reduce the appearance of black textures by changing TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=160 and TEXTURE_SIZE_EXP=9. Unfortunately, it did not fix my other two issues. I changed almost all P3D settings (e.g. autogen radius, autogen density, terrain lod radius, etc.), but I was not able to fix it.

My system: Intel Core i7 6700k @ 4,2 GHz, 16GB DDR4 RAM @ 2666 MHz, Nvidia Geforce GTX 1080 Ti, SSD 500GB

FlyingEngineer

I am an enthusiastic flight simulator pilot from Germany with strong interests in aeronautics, materials science, engineering and programming. As I was just starting to learn English when I began virtual flying as a child, please excuse the poor English of my earlier posts (2015-2018) 🙂

FlightSim: MSFS2020 | JF BAe 146 Pro - PMDG 737-800 - Fenix A320

System Specs: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII FORMULA - Intel Core i7 6700K OC  4,3 Ghz - ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC-Edition 11GB GDDR5X - 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-2666 - Corsair Hydro Series H110i - Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SSD - Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit - CH Flight Sim Yoke - CH Pro Pedals

There is much written here and in the AVSIM P3D Guide on those settings.  Your setting of 9 for the texture exponent is probably the default setting given your other settings and the abilities of the 1080Ti.  The TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT only applies if there is a frame rate lock.  Here is what I have pasted to my Prepar3D.cfg file as a reminder to myself on how to use that tweak:

// With limited FPS, MAX_TEXTURE_DATA = (TEXTURE_MAX_LOAD * (TextureMaxLoad * TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULTIPLIER)) / UPPER_FRAMERATE_LIMIT 
// TextureMaxLoad = max(TextureMaxLoad, (6*TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT)/UPPER_FRAMERATE_LIMIT)

So, for example, my current settings for these three items are: