Sign in to follow this  

Advise you have DELTA.........

Guest franksalot

I'm fairly new to Online flying. One aspect continues to baffle me no end. ATC will often ask to "Confirm you have DELTA.... or some other Codeword" Now I'm aware that he/she wants to know if I have the latest METAR Report, I think it's to confirm I have the QNH :). But what I would like to know is, what is the criteria for changing this Codeword i.e. in the above case it's Delta. I'm not sure if Metar Reports are hourly or less frequently; if they are hourly, we are in trouble, because there are 26 letters in the alphabet (one of which is taken up with Zulu time) :Sorry my question is a bit of a tangle, I hope you get my drift.KenSomerset, England

The letter code is changed whenever a new METAR is released that's different from the previous one.In theory (during rapidly changing conditions) this could happen every few minutes, but half an hour to an hour is more common.Once they reach Zulu (or at a set time) the coding is reset of course. By then noone should still have a very old report anyway.

That's the signifier for the current ATIS broadcast. So by ATC confirming you have Delta (Or whatever the current signifier is) it lets ATC know you are aware of the current airport and weather conditions.

Thanks

Tom

My Youtube Videos!

http://www.youtube.com/user/tf51d