Sign in to follow this  
mikevio

Complete Newbie looking for advice

Hi everyone!  Completely new to Flight Simulation!  Looking for advice on which flight simulator to buy.  Microsoft, Xplane?  I've been trying to read up as much as I can.

Anyway, does anyone have any advice on software to purchase or can you direct me to a beginners article.

Thank you!

Mike

• Like 1

I recommend both P3DV4.4 and Xplane11.  Both have positive features and having both will broaden your sim experience.  Both have great default aircraft.  I feel Xplane11 has better default scenery, except for polar coverage.  P3D has better clouds and cloud shadows I feel and greater visibility options.  Which to buy first if you are on a budget?  Really tough call to make, I give the nod to P3D if you want payware add-on aircraft and payware photoreal scenery.  Xplane11 however offers free Ortho4XP for making your own Photoreal scenery.  P3DV4 offers free FSEarthTiles but making coastlines for P3D is challenging, I have only made inland areas.  My Colorado scenery, for FSX and P3D is free in Avsim's library if you want ample photoreal scenery to fly over.  I also have a freeware trike in Avsim library, which works best in P3D and I feel models slow flight the best of any flight model in a sim--made by a real world trike pilot, Me....

John

• Like 2

55 minutes ago, John_Cillis said: