snpower

Major Sim Issues: Addons not working, program crashing...-

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

I am running 4.5 with the hotfix and am having major issues. The first thing I noticed was that Active Sky would display the message "Waiting for Simulator". Next, Chaseplane stopped connecting to the sim. Now my SimSkunkWorks Harrier causes a CTD. I know two of the tree addons use simconnect... not sure where to start in terms of troubleshooting. FSUIPC is the other addon using simconnect and it does seem to work.

Last, the program load time seems to have increased. And I am seeing more CTD while 'flying'.

I performed repair installs on the client but that did not help.

Update: I am not convinced my woes are largely due to Simconnect. I have discovered another addon that is not working; the FltPlan Go app. Upon launch I get the following error: "Failed to connect to FSX: Error HResult E_Fail has been returned from a call to a COM component.

I have re-installed four of the six simconnect.msi files in the redist directory, but this did not resolve anything.

Edited by snpower

Share this post


Link to post
Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

I'm surprised no one has chimed in?

I've done a repair install of windows,at this point.

This is what I have found in the ActiveSky and Chaseplane Logs:

Chaseplane log states "Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready"

ActiveSky log states "AS_P3Dv4_SimConnectionLog.txt
1:22:21 PM:0649-Pre Connect P3D_Connected = False
1:22:21 PM:0650-P3D Connect Pre Attempt: Instantiated = False / mConnected = False
1:22:21 PM:0761-Sim general message:Sim Msg: fsx_simconnect is NOTHING ...
1:22:24 PM:0138-Sim general message:Sim Msg: Failed to connect - Please ensure FS is running: Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
1:22:24 PM:0139-P3D Connect Post Attempt: Instantiated = True / mConnected = False
1:22:24 PM:0139-P3D Connection Attempted
1:22:24 PM:0139-Post Connect P3D_Connected = False"

Share this post


Link to post

Have you read the P3d troubleshooting tips in this forum? 

I suggest you remove all your 3rd party Content, run stock and a stock plane, and seeif it still CTDs. If not then add your add one one at a time and test each to discover if one of them is the problem. 

 

Share this post


Link to post

Everything was removed after I did a clean install of P3D. ActiveSky would not connect after a re-install.

Share this post


Link to post

Hi,

unless you are running old addons that specifically require the old FSX SimConnect, do not install any of the clients from the redist folder. SimConnect works without them (it always did, but that part is even more true with P3D V4).

Did you at any point create SimConnect configuration files on that machine? SimConnect.ini, SimConnect.xml, SimConnect.cfg? If you did, remove them all.

Best regards

Share this post


Link to post
Posted (edited)

Oliver,

I have been under the impression, from reading other info here, that installing the three simconnect versions in the 'redist' folder was the end all in simconnect troubleshooting. I believe that the add on 'FltPlan Go GPS' may require them, but that is the only add on I can think of.

I have used a search utility to find and delete all instances of simconnect.xml, simconnect.ini, and simconnect.cfg. Next, I used the control panel to uninstall the three listed simconnect installs. Then, I rebooted my machine. This I followed with a clean install of ActiveSky.

 

Chaseplane prompts for the installation of Simconnect 10.0.61259, which is one of the versions listed in the 'redist' folder, I believe.

Neither program will connect.

ActiveSky Log (part that seems to deal with Simconnect):

AS_P3Dv4_SimConnectionLog.txt
2:14:24 PM:0240-Pre Connect P3D_Connected = False
2:14:24 PM:0245-P3D Connect Pre Attempt: Instantiated = False / mConnected = False
2:14:24 PM:0365-Sim general message:Sim Msg: fsx_simconnect is NOTHING ...
2:14:26 PM:0748-Sim general message:Sim Msg: Failed to connect - Please ensure FS is running: Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
2:14:26 PM:0753-P3D Connect Post Attempt: Instantiated = True / mConnected = False
2:14:26 PM:0759-P3D Connection Attempted
2:14:26 PM:0759-Post Connect P3D_Connected = False
2:14:34 PM:0062-Pre Connect P3D_Connected = False
2:14:34 PM:0067-P3D Connect Pre Attempt: Instantiated = True / mConnected = False
2:14:34 PM:0104-Sim general message:Sim Msg: fsx_simconnect is NOTHING ...
2:14:36 PM:0480-Sim general message:Sim Msg: Failed to connect - Please ensure FS is running: Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
2:14:36 PM:0486-P3D Connect Post Attempt: Instantiated = True / mConnected = False
2:14:36 PM:0492-P3D Connection Attempted
2:14:36 PM:0497-Post Connect P3D_Connected = False
2:14:44 PM:0074-Pre Connect P3D_Connected = False
2:14:44 PM:0081-P3D Connect Pre Attempt: Instantiated = True / mConnected = False
2:14:44 PM:0132-Sim general message:Sim Msg: fsx_simconnect is NOTHING ...
2:14:46 PM:0494-Sim general message:Sim Msg: Failed to connect - Please ensure FS is running: Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
2:14:46 PM:0499-P3D Connect Post Attempt: Instantiated = True / mConnected = False
2:14:46 PM:0506-P3D Connection Attempted
2:14:46 PM:0511-Post Connect P3D_Connected = False
2:14:54 PM:0074-Pre Connect P3D_Connected = False
2:14:54 PM:0080-P3D Connect Pre Attempt: Instantiated = True / mConnected = False
2:14:54 PM:0132-Sim general message:Sim Msg: fsx_simconnect is NOTHING ...
2:14:56 PM:0513-Sim general message:Sim Msg: Failed to connect - Please ensure FS is running: Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
2:14:56 PM:0518-P3D Connect Post Attempt: Instantiated = True / mConnected = False
2:14:56 PM:0523-P3D Connection Attempted
2:14:56 PM:0529-Post Connect P3D_Connected = False
2:15:04 PM:0075-Pre Connect P3D_Connected = False
2:15:04 PM:0080-P3D Connect Pre Attempt: Instantiated = True / mConnected = False
2:15:04 PM:0122-Sim general message:Sim Msg: fsx_simconnect is NOTHING ...
2:15:06 PM:0497-Sim general message:Sim Msg: Failed to connect - Please ensure FS is running: Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
2:15:06 PM:0503-P3D Connect Post Attempt: Instantiated = True / mConnected = False
2:15:06 PM:0508-P3D Connection Attempted
2:15:06 PM:0515-Post Connect P3D_Connected = False

 

 

Chaseplane Log:

Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Button clicked btn_nav_preferences
Button clicked btn_nav_preferences
Button clicked btn_nav_preferences
tutorial_focusArea
Button clicked btn_report
'A report has been generated on your desktop. ' has been added to queue
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Trying to connect from getRunningSimName loop
Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready
Button clicked btn_report

 

 

Edited by snpower

Share this post


Link to post
39 minutes ago, Lorby_SI said:

unless you are running old addons that specifically require the old FSX SimConnect, do not install any of the clients from the redist folder. SimConnect works without them (it always did, but that part is even more true with P3D V4).

Did you at any point create SimConnect configuration files on that machine? SimConnect.ini, SimConnect.xml, SimConnect.cfg? If you did, remove them all.

I recently had a problem with ActiveSky for P3Dv4 (aka ASP4) where it was using the P3D version of Simconnect after not being able to find the one it really needs, which is the FSX SP2/Acceleration version.  It worked with the P3D version, but with some intermittent serious problems.  Reinstalling all of the simconnect versions from the P3D redist folder solved the problems.

So the idea that only old addons use the FSX versions of Simconnect is a potentially problematic one.  I don't know anyone who has had a problem that could be traced back to having too many of the various versions installed together (the different versions coexist separately in the side-by-side libraries), but I do know quite a few who had issues caused by not having the proper version available.

Regards

Share this post


Link to post

I'm only asking because I didn't see it specifically mentioned, but if i missed it then my sincere apologize.

AS requires the update followed by a reinstall of the ASConnect after AS is updated.  Just wanted to ensure you did this, otherwise you'll get the same message you cited.  As for the other addons, I agree that getting rid of them, ensuring the sim is normal, and then re-adding them one at the time to find the offending (addon) culprit is the best course.

Best wishes!

Share this post


Link to post
Posted (edited)

Hello @ll,

here is how SimConnect works.

  • SimConnect consists of two parts, the API itself, the "server" if you prefer that term, and a "client".
  • The SimConnect "server" is part of the simulator itself. It cannot be uninstalled or installed.
  • The initial concept of SimConnect was distributed computing, that is why there are "clients" for every FSX incarnation. These were intended to be installed on other computers, to enable addons to communicate with the server. And initially they were used on the local machine too, since it doesn't make a difference - the communication with the server is always using the IP stack and neither addon nor client or server care if there is an actual TCP/IP network between them or of they are just sending the data up and down the stack on the same machine.
  • Since a couple of P3D versions back there are no more clients. If an addon has been compiled with the P3D SimConnect libraries, it doesn't need the extra client - all code is included in those libraries.
  • The config files that I mentioned are only relevant for distributed computing (the cfg and the xml) or for developers (the ini). If you are running the addon on the same computer as the sim, there is no need for either of them.
  • Because SimConnect communication is based on IP, it is possible to have an old client talk to a current server. But naturally, it cannot conjure up any of the new procedures that were incorporated into the API. This is where the advice comes from to install the old clients from \redist\ when using old addons.

If an addon requires the FSX SimConnect, then it has not been compiled with the current (64bit) P3D V4 API libraries. Which means that it does not take advantage of any of the advances that were made with the API in the last 12 something years. IIRC I have been running AS4 without any additional client since the beginning.

Best regards

Edited by Lorby_SI

Share this post


Link to post
23 minutes ago, w6kd said:

So the idea that only old addons use the FSX versions of Simconnect is a potentially problematic one. 

What I am finding problematic is that some developers are not building their applications to the current standards, but rely on a 12 year old version of the API instead. That is why I wrote it that way.

Best regards

Share this post


Link to post
13 minutes ago, DaveCT2003 said:

I'm only asking because I didn't see it specifically mentioned, but if i missed it then my sincere apologize.

AS requires the update followed by a reinstall of the ASConnect after AS is updated.  Just wanted to ensure you did this, otherwise you'll get the same message you cited.  As for the other addons, I agree that getting rid of them, ensuring the sim is normal, and then re-adding them one at the time to find the offending (addon) culprit is the best course.

Best wishes!

Thanks Dave. I did run ASConnect after the update.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Posted (edited)
56 minutes ago, snpower said:

Oliver,

I have been under the impression, from reading other info here, that installing the three simconnect versions in the 'redist' folder was the end all in simconnect troubleshooting.

Yes, I know that many people see it that way. Truth is, addons that were developed properly for the P3D V4 platform don't require them at all. But some developers who make cross-platform addons (FSX&P3D) stick with the smallest common denominator - the FSX Acceleration SimConnect libraries - instead of building separate installers for every sim. And when they do, you have to install the corresponding client too.

If you want a simple test to determine if your P3D V4 SimConnect is working, I'd recommend using my Flashlight app. It is a basic SimConnect app that uses P3D V4 native libraries, and if this app can connect, you can be sure that there is at least nothing wrong with your simulator and IP configuration.

A couple of years back I made an even simpler test program. It was for P3D V3, but it still works. Let me know if you want to try that too.

Best regards

Edited by Lorby_SI

Share this post


Link to post

I’d love to try your app. I can’t believe a fresh install hasn’t resolved this.

Share this post


Link to post
Just now, snpower said:

I’d love to try your app. I can’t believe a fresh install hasn’t resolved this.

The Flashlight is freeware. You will find it on the Lorby-SI website, section "Downloads", near the bottom of the page.

Best regards

Share this post


Link to post

The flashlight app appears to not work. I cannot select 'Lamp on' or 'Lamp off', and the Location drop down menu is not populated with any choices.

Share this post


Link to post
Posted (edited)

snpower, you are not alone... I have been following this post as I have the same problem , the native P3D simconnect works but any app that uses the old FSX simconnect.dll does not detect the sim , I use JinFS and Little navmap that both use the FSX simconnect and nione works , JFS reports looking  for sim and never finds it  I deleted Registry entries and uninstalled V4.5 , V4.5+HF and V4 and none makes a diff I also tried V3 , I beleive it is a windows problem somehow , I run FSC /Scannow Ok and also run the simconnect.ini for a log but it only logs about the P3D native simconnect nothing about the fsx ones , ( I know because SpadNext uses simconnect native and works OK.)

The .ini and .xml simconnect are for logging or for remote connection to a SIM , nothing to do with this as it is a local install , also PlanG uses simconnect and it does not work.

 Very strange problem...  JoinFS has a monitor function , if I uninstall the FSX simconnect and start JFS it reports the simconnect  fsx is not installed , I then install it and reports cannot find sim...

 

Jorge

 

 

Edited by aeronauta

Share this post


Link to post

My latest Win10 update was ..

May 21, 2019—KB4497934 (OS Build OS 17763.529)

Share this post


Link to post

Same issue with Flashlight...as I have autoconnect it turns the green led on andoff but nothing happens as it cannot connect...

Share this post


Link to post

Sorry my name is Jorge Roldan

Share this post


Link to post

Question. Have any of you suffering this posted on LMs forum or filled out a trouble ticket? 

Share this post


Link to post

I dont think this is an LM problem... I tested it with P3D from V3 to V4.5+HF...at the moment I have a clean install of V4.5+hf and no add ons.

 

Jorge

Share this post


Link to post

I uninstalled the latest Win update and tested but no change...???

 

Jorge

Share this post


Link to post

So I might be a bit closer to nailing down the issue:

I've been at this since 0600 eastern time... I reformatted my main drive (Windows and Prepar3D), and did a full install of Windows 10 letting it install all updates.

Next, I installed P3D v4.4.16.27077. The Lorby flashlight worked as soon as I launched P3D! Feeling lucky, I moved to 4.5 and the fun stopped. I'm back to no simconnect.I sure hate to install Windows again??

Share this post


Link to post
1 hour ago, 188AHC said:

Question. Have any of you suffering this posted on LMs forum or filled out a trouble ticket? 

No Sir, not as of yet.

Share this post


Link to post

There is a hot fix available for 4.5.

Share this post


Link to post

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now