Sign in to follow this  
martin-w

Mars from his garden!

I have been a hobby astronomer for many years and the single biggest break through in imaging for amateurs was the development of relatively inexpensive CCD and more recently CMOS based cameras which can produce images like the one posted. I spent many evenings using black and white Tech Pan film back in the day having no idea how even a single negative frame turned out until the film strip was developed. These days many short exposures are stacked and processed in software while discarding any bad frames. The technology provides almost instant gratification.

• Like 2
  • Upvote 1

Gary Stewart

Yep. I was a proffesional photographer in the days when we sloshed stuff around in developer. 

So diferent these days.

I was a kid with a Kodak camera which used 110 film (Tele Ektra 32 I think) in the days when Truprint sloshed stuff around in the developer after I'd posted off my film cartridges :happy:

"Look! I captured that British Airways 727 on approach"... "Where? All I can see is sky and clouds.."... "THERE! That dark, pointy shape!" :biggrin:

Mark Robinson

Part-time Ferroequinologist

Author of FLIGHT: A near-future short story (ebook available on amazon)

I made the baby cry - A2A Simulations L-049 Constellation

Sky Simulations MD-11 V2.2 Pilot. The best "lite" MD-11 money can buy (well, it's not freeware!)

3 hours ago, martin-w said:

Yep. I was a proffesional photographer in the days when we sloshed stuff around in developer. 

So diferent these days.

Wow, the memories. Way back in the olden days when I was a young lad of 14 I was lucky enough to get a job making prints for the local portrait photographer. Chemicals, chemicals, chemicals.....yeeeeech. But I did learn how to make great enlargements of the really good looking women 🙂

• Like 2