Sign in to follow this  
mgh

Thinking of upgrading to Vista? Read this...

MS is apparently really gooing to limit the installation flexibility of Vista. The OS can only be transferred to another machine once. Bad news for those of us who like to tinker a bit. Who's going to pay $300 for an OS that can only be transferred once? Sheez...See: http://www.techweb.com/wire/software/193300234Doug

Intel 10700K @ 5.1Ghz, Asus Hero Maximus motherboard, Noctua NH-U12A cooler, Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB 3200 MHz RAM, RTX 2060 Super GPU, Cooler Master HAF 932 Tower, Thermaltake 1000W Toughpower PSU, Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit, 100TB of disk storage. Klaatu barada nickto.

Guest OneTinSoldier

Well, if I understand this correctly...I think you can count me out of purchasing Vista then. I'm a Linux Certified Professional, so I'm comfortable with using Linux and I enjoy it. A major reason I got interested in Linux was because Win95/98/98SE/ME were unstable and messy. I purchased and run WinXP because MS finally came up with a stable OS of good quality, and so I can run MSFS of course. Now they come up with a policy that will turn me away from their OS.The good news is that FSX runs on WinXP and so I guess WinXP is what I'll be sticking with for the next few years in order to run FSX, because I will not allow myself to be what I feel is, taken advantage of. You can be almost certain that I would be a person that would purchase more than 'one' new computer system during Vista's lifespan.Furthermore, I think this might somehow be illegal. If it isn't it, such a shackle should be made illegal. I think it's time that the Government stands up for the rights of us consumers and drags M$'s butt back into court. Apparently the slap on the wrist they got last time was not sufficient enough punishment to make them see the light and correct the error of their "let's play the monopoly card" bullying ways.If I did not understand this new license scheme correctly then I retract the above,