Sign in to follow this  

Newbie looking for panel editor

Guest skylanepilot

I'm new to this whole a/c design thing ... but willing to learn :-)Right now I'm just looking to make a few mods to the stock 182 panel to more closely mirror what's in my real airplane. Tried FSEdit, but it barfed anytime I tried to open a panel.Looking for recommendations on a decent panel editor .. freeware or payware (as long as it's not too much pay!).Ultimately, I'd also like to design a KLN94 GPS for GA panels (not all GA planes run Garmins ya know!!) ... so I guess I'm looking for any gauge design tools as well.Thanks in advance ..

As far as panel editors go, you have pretty much two options.The first is the freeware CFGEdit ( http://www.cfgedit.com ). It is a great freeware program, but the limitation with it is it cannot handle the new FS2k2 XML gauges. Apart from this, it is definately worth having.If you want to include XML gauges in your panels, FS Panel Studio is the way to go. It is from the same author as CFGEdit, and, in addition to allowing you to use XML gauges, you can create and edit them. It also allows you to edit the bitmaps in the *.gau files.This program is payware, but it is DEFINATELY worth the price ($24.99). You can get it from http://www.fspanelstudio.comCheersMalcolm

Guest skylanepilot

Thanks for the info!Looks like fspanelstudio is the way to go.For my own edification ... how many of the FS2002 stock guages are XML vs. holdovers from FS2000? If I do a KLN94 guage, it would probably be easier if I based it on the existing GPS or ND guage.Also, how easy is it to create a guage completely from scratch using the tool? It appears that the tool requires you to copy an existing guage as a base.Thanx again ..