Sign in to follow this  
Guest sphing

What do you guys use to design panels?

Hi AllWhat programs do you each use to design and/or build panelsIs there one program that sticks out as the best?ThanksFaxCap

Guest harry3

For the panel.cfg files:If you are new to panel design, then use FS Panel Studio ( http://www.fspanelstudio.com/ ), or CFG Edit ( http://www.cfgedit.com/ ).But you will come back to Notepad again, believe me ;) For the graphics:MsPaint, Paint Shop Pro, ...but you can do many things with MsPaint!!!Regards,Harry

Guest abent

I don't know a lot about making panels but I do modify the panel bitmaps and use CfgEdit to add stuff to panels.I just picked up a little program for graphic editing called:PixelStudio2 for $35.00 CAD and it's great. I use it in conjunction with MSPaint.As much as I like CfgEdit, for some reason it wants to resize and reposition windows/gauges for me automatically. So, as the previous posters say, notepad works really well.I'm just learning now how to work with XML gauges to install panel spot lights. There is SOOOO much to learn but there are many helpful people in this forum.Be warned...this panel editing is addictive, if not frustrating some times! I just started and I'm hooked.Adam

>Be warned...this panel editing is addictive, if not>frustrating some times! I just started and I'm hooked.>AdamThat's what I was afraid of, Adam! :-)I may try CFGEdit 1st and work my way up from there.FaxCap

Not sure what you guys do with MS Paint, but for some high quality I think nothing can beat 3D Studio MAX, Lightwave or any other 3D modelling/rendering tool for those who can afford it IMHO. Look at PSS's panels, they were made using Lightwave I think. :-eek

Guest abent