Sign in to follow this  
lcseale53

You there Geof....or any Baron drivers?

I just got a pretty remarkable offer on a 2000 Baron from a friend of mine who is an instructor at a flight school in West Virginia. I'm giving serious consideration to selling off the old 206 and stepping up to the twin to haul the family around and was wondering if anyone could give me some pros and cons of the Baron.

I love the baron. It is a solid airplane with really docile characteristics. The only problem is now you have double the powerplant systems to pay for and the added fuel.

That is probably the biggest downside from my perspective. I have been coaching the family around in a 206 for the last several years, and one of the biggest pros is that I can still have a six-place with a rather incredible payload, still get up to about 145 in cruise, and I only have one engine to pay for. I am wondering if the extra fuel is worth the leg room. But, what has me interested is the fact that the Baron can haul six comfortably, whereas the aft two seats in the 206 are just too tight for the average adult. The vast majority of my flying is done in Florida, which means that I do not have a need for the extra altitude. I am mostly concerned about passenger comfort and a bit more luggage room. Normally I wouldn't even consider the topic given how much I have fallen in love with the 206, but I would hate to pass on a great offer.

Is a C210 much the same way as a C206 in the back two seats? Our flying club has one but I've never actually flown it yet.