Sign in to follow this  
Guest Peter Bruun

Pls. Mentors Help Urgently Needed for Foto-Texturing

Guest Peter Bruun

HelloIm has nearly completed a scenery project, and want to use my Digital fotoes as Textures on the AP buildings. Im using NovaSim and Airport for windows. I use Paint Shop Pro for editing the BMP,s but are completely new working with this.I do following steps;I cut and edit the picture, save it via New Immage in 256 colour as BMP, (have tried 16 bit aswell as 32) put the BMP in main FS2004 texture folder, and in scenery folder of my project too.I Construct a test model (api) with Novasim, i use the BMP as texturing. I place object with APW at my construction site, but when i load fs2004, and look at the object, i only see blank grey sides, where there should have been nice fototextures, and no matter what i try. What a sad story.After severel days of trying to read manuals and extremely teq. stuff not friendly for a Complete beginner like me, im near to give up :((If anyone can give me a clue of what to doo, i am most thankfull

I think the texture format is wrong, try to use DXT textures in the texture folder of your scenery. You can create these with either ImageTool or DXTBMP. You can create them right away from the 16 or 32 bit image, no need to reduce to 256 colours first (only reduces the quality).

Arno

If the world should blow itself up, the last audible voice would be that of an expert saying it can't be done.

FSDeveloper.com | Former Microsoft FS MVP | Blog

Guest Peter Bruun

Hello Arno, and thanks for your quick reply.I think you are right, because i can use "ready made" textures without problems. Do yuo know where to find the 2 programs ?.Thanks in Advance ;o)

ImageTool can be found in the SDKs of MS. I know it is in the GMax SDK and probably also in the terrain SDK.http://www.microsoft.com/games/flightsimul...wnloads_sdk.aspDXTBMP can be found on the website of Martin Wrighthttp://www.mnwright.btinternet.co.uk/

Arno