Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

jvile

Is runway choice solely dictated by AFCAD and wind in FS9?

I'm having trouble with some of my addon airports. These are primarily high quality freeware airports (from FRF and Mach1 design) and some FlyTampa airports as well. Some airports I haven't detected problems with (yet, perhaps, I haven't tested them in all wind conditions).Yesterday for instance I did a flight out of KMIA to KJFK. The wind at KMIA was somethinglike 340 @ 12knots, yet aircraft were departing on runways 8L, 8R, and 12 which is completely asinine given the wind conditions.Are the runways used by AI traffic and assigned by ATC based solely upon the data found in the AFCAD file? If so, I'm going to need to start going into my AFCAD files and changing things, because this is beginning to drive me insane. I'm a real world pilot and seeing planes take off with a 15 knot tailwind is just not right and I need to fix it.Any tips on settings in the AFCAD (I've never edited one before) to make it so planes use a runway appropriate to the wind (and appropriate to aircraft size, don't want a 777 trying to land on a 4000' runway).

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!