Sign in to follow this  

Terra Builder

I'm kind of new to this and would like someone to explain to me what exactly Terra Builder is and what it can do for me. Do I need programming knowledge to use this program.Dave

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

You don't need any programming knowledge at all, but the same attention to documentation required by a programmer would be required to use Terrabuilder as well. I was flying over my first photoreal scenery within an hour of downloading Terrabuilder. My only data entries made were the name of a bitmap, and the lat/lon extents of my scenery. Changes made in FS2002 also allow for import of scenery made with Terrascene, originally made for Fly! & Fly2!The most complex part of making photoreal scenery with Terrabuilder is locating and finding the source material for your project!John, KPHX

Right now, TB will allow you to overlay Microsoft's default scenery with your aerial photographs at a resolution of 4.8 meters/pixel.There's no programming experience required for TB but there are a LOT of new terms and concepts to understand if you are new to scenery design. As JohnCi says, the real work consists of understanding how to obtain and prepare the aerial photography itself, but that's done independently of Terrabuilder with a program like Photoshop or Paint Shop Pro.