Sign in to follow this  
rhumbaflappy

FS2002Pro - Creating Custom Terrain Textures

Misho and other FlightSim gurus,In reference to my earlier post this week:wanting to import a bitmap into flightsim2002pro as a texture or sceneryHave went through the MSFS2002Pro SDK "Niagara Falls" example as instructed by Misho. After reading the "Creating Custom Terrain Textures" I went through the step by step process for the Niagara example, using the resample program from DOS. It provided an excellent means to accomplish putting my one file bitmap into flight sim without even having to use TerraBuilder. 2 QuestionsIn adobe photoshop 7.0, how do I reduce my raw image, http://www.wrinn.com/terrabuilder/to the required 24 bit, this is troubling me, and I am no graphics expert. Basically I am having the hardest time with this. Within the .inf file that I run resample on, the SourceFile = "my bitmap". I ran resample yesterday on this image(even though it was extremely huge and high resolution, and it batched prcessed for about thirty minutes. The end results was a million bitmap files in my "Destination" directory. I know this is not right. Note: That I ran this with my destination directives> UseSourceDimensions to 0 in my .inf file. All I want is a basic image of Fort Rucker and am not sure of the width and height that is required in the image. Here is my .inf file, I attempted to modifty the niagara falls example.;; niagra.inf -- Sample INF file for FS2002 SDK.;; To use, run the following commands from directory containing this file:;; mkdir fortrucker ; mkdir fortruckerscenery; mkdir fortruckertexture; resample fortrucker.inf; tmf2bgl fortrucker.tmf sceneryfortrucker.bgl; imagetool -terrainphoto 0*.bmp; copy *.mip texture*.bmp;; In FS2002, go to the Scenery Library and Add this area [Destination] DestDir = "c:fortruckersourcefortrucker" DestBaseFileName = "c:fortruckersourcefortrucker" BuildSeasons = 0 UseSourceDimensions = 0[source] Type = Custom SourceDir = "c:fortruckersour