Sign in to follow this  
Guest twsimfan

PP99 / XP / 9700 Pro / ???

Does anyone know if PP99 will run in W/XP or if it will work with a 128MB ATI Radeon 9700 Pro video card?I have been wrestling to make Fly2 work on my new system and it just occurred to me that I haven't tried PP99... I always liked PP99 and the scenery looked so much better after I installed a my V5-5500 on my old system. But shortly after that I installed W/ME and it didn't seem to want to run after that.Just curious... guess I should just shutup and try it... but then I wouldn't have the benefit of you guys' expertise... or any tips on what patches and or downloads I should be looking for.

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Tom, the only thing I can say for sure is that PP99 is not going to run in hardware 3D with your Radeon since that card doesn't support Glide.I have no personal experience with WinMe and PP99. I will hopefully be moving to a new computer and WinXP in the near future so we will see if it runs with that.

Scott,Guess you are correct. I put it in and it looked awfull. I still like the panels... I always considered them the best for learning from... and the startup movie... I have always liked it. Maybe I try Fly2k and see how it does... not having a lot of luck with Fly2... the controls are all messed up. At least FU3 & FS02 are both working great!Thanks for the response. :-sun1

The fact that you got it to run on the Windows ME/XP system is GOOD! But you have to have the Voodoo 5 to see the 3D effects. Change that video card and it should be OK. Did the mouse work in PP99? If it did, then the video card is all you have to change.Jerry K. ThorneEast Ridge, TN.