Sign in to follow this  
Doc Bryant

Short Final for 26 May, 2003

From Avweb's twice weekly compendium of things aviating....Short FinalYears ago, as a student pilot, I remember the fear when my instructor told me we would be flying into Class B (then known as a TCA). What happens if I miss a call? What happens if I blow an altitude, or screw up a heading? He kept re-assuring me that I would do just fine. But I wasn't convinced. I made contact and entered the airspace, flying my assigned altitude and heading with sweaty palms, listening to the pros. Suddenly, ATC, in a very cynical, condescending tone, barked out "Northwest 560, WHERE are you going?" A rather timid voice came back with "Heading 260, sir." "I said 360! Fly heading 360. Just where do you think the airport is?" "Roger ... 360" was the reply. "Cessna XYZ, fly heading 300." "Heading 300, Cessna XYZ." "Thanks, at least SOMEONE here can follow instructions." From that point on, flying in controlled airspace was no sweat. Doc Bryant

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Somewhat amusing, but "Cessna XYZ" is a new model to me. Does that replace the Skylane?Best regards.Luis

Brother Luis....It's a simple transposition code...or you could call it, a transportation code since its an aeroplane...A equals 1, B equals 2, C equals three, and so on....Doc Bryant

I love that "aeroplane". So many different names for flying machines in the age of Pioneers (for example, "aerodrome" coined by Langley) and airplane won out. Our vocabulary loss.Best regards.Luis

Luis,"Aerodrome" was the word for the landing field (airport) in those days, not the flying machine itself.Jerry K. ThorneEast Ridge, TN