Sign in to follow this  
Guest WorkingStiff

arrival time on the MCDU ...

hi guys,i used to play with the Phoenix 777 a/c panel when it first came out for FS2000, and i think it is one fine panel for Fs2000,however now i play with FS2002just a small q with regard to ETA (estimated time at arrival) at an airport, when i look at it say if i am flying from KLAX to KSFO it would tell me 19:25Z when i am say crusingnow the thing is that this arrival time is not accurate because obviously the plane has to slow down and descend till it arrives at KSFOand i have found out that when i do arrive at KSFO i arrive at 19:43Zthe above is just an examplenow my concern is, how does a pilot know what time *really* the plane will arrive at the airport,it would be quite embarrassing if i was a pilot and told my virtual passenger (by looking at my MCDU) that arrival at KSFO is 19:25Z when infact - compensating for descent etc - arrival time should be 19:43Zany real workl pilots out there, is the MCDU accurate ie does it take into account descents, STARS etc and then give u a better approx of arrival time?is there a panel out there than can give u a accurate ETA at the airport i dont mean VOR or Intersections i mean airports arriving atp.s this is not only in PSS panel in all the panels or the flight planner with Fs2002 as wellthx